BNA Hon Fellows

Fellowship (Honoris Causa) 2019

To promote due recognition of excellence in natural history, the Trustees instigated a Fellowship (Honoris Causa) of The British Naturalists’ Association which is only bestowed upon a small number of naturalists of outstanding calibre. Recipients of the BNA’s highest annual award, the Peter Scott Memorial Award are granted Fellowship (Honoris Causa) in acknowledgement that the Award is bestowed only to a naturalist who has made an internationally recognised outstanding contribution to our understanding of natural history.
The Fellowship (Honoris Causa) will also be bestowed infrequently on eminent naturalists who meet this same standard of exacting criteria, (this latter origin of Fellows (Honoris Causa) is strictly limited to a small number). The formation of this Fellowship was in accordance with the Aims of the Association to promote the study of natural history, and is part of a programme to enhance the effectiveness of the Association in promoting these Aims.
Dr. Erica McAlister
Received Honoris Causa at the 2023 Encaenia at the Natural History Museum, London
[In alphabetical order]
Sir David Attenborough OM CH CVO CBE FRS FZS FSA HonFBNA
Professor Chris Baines DUniv HonFBNA
Nick Baker BSc FRES HonFBNA
Professor Trevor Beebee BSc PhD HonFBNA
Peter Brown BSc PhD HonFBNA
Professor Ted Benton BA BPhil PhD HonFBNA
Tom Cameron BSc PhD HonFBNA
Norma Chapman BSc HonFBNA
Professor Alastair H. Fitter CBE PhD FRS HonFBNA
Professor James Hitchmough BSc PhD HonFBNA
Max Hooper PhD HonFBNA
Bill Oddie OBE HonFBNA
Richard Mabey FRSL DUniv HonFBNA
Dr Erica McAlister Hon.FRES HonFBNA
George C. McGavin BSc PhD FLS FRGS Hon FRSB Hon FBNA
Professor Mike Majerus BSc PhD FRES HonFBNA
Professor Ian Newton OBE DSc FRS FRSE HonFBNA
Chris Packham CBE BSc HonDSc HonFBNA
Maya Plass MSc HonFBNA
Professor Oliver Rackham OBE PhD FBA DUniv HonFBNA
Professor Helen Roy BSc MSc PhD HonFBNA
Tony Soper HonFBNA
Professor Tim Sparks MSc MSc PhD HonFBNA
Roger Tabor MPhil FLS CBiol FRSB FCFBA HonFBN
Professor Sarah Wanless BSc PhD FRSE HonFBNA